The Pentecostals Of The Miss-Lou, formerly known as The First United Pentecostal Church of Ferriday originated in 1958. Pastor O.C. Dyess came to Ferriday in 1964 with a vision for revival. In the 70's, a new building was erected at 305 Lake Drive. The church grew rapidly and revival continued into Pastor Dyess senior years when he selected Rev. Gary Howington to come and work with him and assume the role of Pastor. Pastor Howington and his family brought fresh energy and a renewed revival spirit to Ferriday in 1991.

After assuming the role of Senior Pastor in 1994, Pastor Howington immediately looked toward building a new facility as their current facility was filled to capacity. Prayer and Bible studies were the catalysts for growth, the keys that made the difference. A new 10,000 square foot facility was built at 305 Lake Drive. Completed in 1998, it seated 400 members. Within a few years, a vision that was started by the late O.C. Dyess became a reality, as Pastor Howington led the church into another building program out on the highway. A 35,000 square foot facility was completed in October 2006. The new facility is a testament to the goodness of the Lord Jesus Christ and the vision of a man who follows Him.

In May 2015, Rev. Jeremy Howington, who had been assisting Pastor Howington for several years in numerous capacities, was elected to be Pastor of The POML. Pastor Jeremy Howington now serves as pastor and Pastor Gary Howington serves as Bishop.